Gearing up for Canada

I thought I had everything I needed when I left Nebraska. Wrong! First, there were the things I should’ve brought but forgot: hammer, cooler, tea ball. Then there were the things I knew I would need to get somewhere along the road: small stove, binoculars, paper towels.

Finally, there were the things I didn’t know I needed until I saw them: battery-powered fan, waterproof belt latch box for my phone, mosquito hood. A very nice man named Richard behind the counter in the camping section at Walmart had a great amount of patience with me and all my Canada shopping. He also had some terrific suggestions. Thanks, Richard!

Honestly, I’m not sure how I got it all into the Jeep, But I had fun unpackaging it and putting it in its places. Not for the last time I’m sure, I have to say thank goodness for the car top carrier!

To tell you the truth, even though I’m glad I have all this stuff, it weighs on me – both the price and the presence. One of the things I like about traveling is simplicity. In fact, I believe the simplicity of my life when I travel is one of the reasons I do it.

Without a lot of complications around me to distract my mind, I can focus on the activities and ideas I hope I am able to complete before I die.

In Steven Covey’s teachings about time management, purpose, and achievement, he suggests visualizing your own funeral. What do you want people to say about you at your funeral? What do you want to be able to say you achieved when you look back on your life? If you work your way back from that, it helps you find the motivation to do the things that are most important to you.

I suppose, when I think about it, I hope people attending my funeral will say I had the courage to break out of the mold and find my own way. I hope they say they were inspired by my travels to find their own path, whatever that might be.

In the meantime, my life is all about really living. With all the stuff. And all the forgetfulness and imperfection. In all it’s glory!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Gearing up for Canada

  1. Richard Waters

    Hi Kindra, hope your trip is going well. I liked your latest blog and feel priviledged to even be mentioned. It was a genuine pleasure to assist you in gearing up. I am enjoying reading through your notes. Thanks for offering your info to me. I will occasionally say hi. I dont expect you to take time to answer me as I’m sure you have hundreds of clients and friends to attend to. Anyway, Best of Luck!!! Richard Waters

    • Hi, Richard! Are you surprised to see my reply? I do like to answer when people post on my blogs…even if it takes awhile. Hope all is well with you. I haven’t seen the northern lights, yet. But I’ve had my nose in the computer much of the time I’ve been here. Lake Louise has been overrun with visitors during this long weekend. I’m going to leave the park for a few days, then come back when it’s quieter and take some hikes. I thought it might be safer to hike with lots of people, but couldn’t even get to the lakes without a huge wait in line in the car. I’m too antcy for that! Take care.

      • Hi Kindra, dont know what happened but just got your reply on 120913 from 090113. Really hope your trip was what you were looking for. I always looked forward to your posts and enjoyed emensly. Your Freind…..Richard

  2. Hi, Richard. Thanks for the note! I just saw it. This account is attached to an email I don’t monitor–and didn’t realize I might have comments!

    I didn’t make as many posts from Canada as I’d hoped. Too many problems connecting, and by the time I got my work done each day, there was no time to post. I hope to share some of my photos later. I might share them on my Facebook page: Foster Executive Writing & Editing LLC.

    Take care!

Leave a Reply

