Millions-of-Eyes-Winking Lakes…and Invisible Caribou

Yesterday, I traveled about 50 km to see Maligne (muh-LEEN) Lake west and south of Jasper, AB. (Still waiting for my book manuscript and client product to arrive from the states, so I’m “stuck” here for a few more days.) I cooked myself dinner on the portable stove (fried potatoes), looking up every few minutes to see snippets of turquoise water peeking through the pine trees. I loved Maligne Lake, but I REALLY fell in love with Medicine Lake, a unique series of million-eyes-winking bodies of gently rippling water attached by meandering rivulets, embraced by mountains on all sides, some of them so big I felt as though God’s right-hand men (or women) were watching over me.

Jasper, AB, sightseeing - Medicine Lake, near Maligne Lake

Medicine Lake, southwest of Jasper, AB. Meandering rivulets connecting sparkling mini-lakes, with caribou footprints in the sandbars…wow.

Lots of sandbars with footprints on them…caribou! Didn’t see the actual animal, but the spirit of the place really snagged my imagination and intensified my feelings of connection with the natural world. How does a place so beautiful exist? I felt as though my eyes worked better when I was there, because I WANTED to see more. I wanted to really see what I was looking at. You can see more photos on Facebook later today (Foster Executive Writing & Editing).

Get business and writing tips in the blog at Fosterwriting.com, based on the places I go and people I meet .
BioVi, my exciting new client, is giving away a free iPad Mini! AND, you can learn tons about good health, antioxidants and probiotics. Click here to enter the
Leave a comment

Filed under canada, Hiking, Lakes, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

