Holy Fast-Moving World!

I’m a little embarrassed to tell you I haven’t written in this personal blog for awhile because I couldn’t remember the log-in. Then Susan reminded me today I hadn’t written in awhile, and for some reason I sat down and entered the right log-in the first time I tried. I REALLY want to keep up with this, so I’m glad I remembered it. As soon as I’m finished with this entry, I’ll call and let her know she has a new entry to read. I can’t believe so much time has gone by SO fast. I told you I’d be complaining about time.

It was a whirlwind tour of the coast. I had a blast and learned some things about myself. In a way, I was worried I would work too much, for example, and miss all the sights. The opposite happened, though. I didn’t work enough, because I was so enamored of the sights. The biggest problem, though, was that I tried to work at night, thinking I would save the daytime for seeing what I wanted to see without having to work a lot. That would have worked great if I didn’t need more than about three or four hours of sleep. Alas, I am too old, I guess. I found I had to sleep at least seven hours. That meant I worked until about 3:00, slept until 10. Showered, packed up, ate breakfast in the Jeep and got on the road at the lazy-bones hour of noon. The day was half over by then! Then, in the evening when I got to work, I couldn’t see a thing. I could just as well have been in Nebraska as St. George State Park in the middle of a thousand beautiful dunes.

So, the last couple of days I switched it up. I went to sleep about 11 or 12 p.m., got up about 7 am. and hit the road. Then I found an interesting place to work, and I stayed there for two or three hours to enjoy it.  When I came to a good stopping point, I packed up, walked around to see a little more of the location, then moved on to another location. That gave me a chance to relax and enjoy my surroundings while I worked. I’ll know about this next time I’m moving from place to place. I think I’ll also bring a screen tent with me. I loved working outside, but it gave the bugs a Kindy smorgasbord, and I just don’t feel that generous.

How do I feel about the coast? I loved the experience. It opened my eyes to locations I had only heard about before. It erased a frustration I felt from having only visited Orlando through an airport and conference center in the past. I didn’t go to Orlando, but I went to many, many wonderful spots in Florida. I visited the redneck forest and swamp area, the big city (Tampa), the spring break mecca (Panama City), the snow-white beach (Miramar), and the elite vacation hive (Destin). I actually had a beer date with one of my waiters, Mike Freschette, after he got off work. (Don’t worry…I gave my sister all his personal information before I said I’d go.)

The curious thing is that I didn’t get homesick at all, and I’m still not. I DO miss my kids, family and friends, though. It seems as though I should just be able to hop on the road and come say hello, then come back to continue my adventure, but that would involve about 30 hours of driving. I think the time is right in my life for this adventure. Honestly, I don’t think I could have NOT come. I just wish each day didn’t move so fast. I have more to do than what fills a 24-hour day.

So look for more posts as I explore Houston. I’m hoping to meet new people, see new things and become a better driver on seven-lane highways.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Holy Fast-Moving World!

  1. Pingback: Read my personal blog, too! : Foster Writing

  2. Ann

    Kindra–I’ve been away from FB for a while. The too much to do, too little time thing you speak of. Not sure what your adventure encompasses, but enjoyed what I’ve read so far and will continue to keep up with email notifications. Have fun, learn lots and be safe.

Leave a comment